Serving Beverly Hills, Bel Air, Holmby, Century City, Trousdale, Brentwood, Westwood

2012 DGA Awards Nominees Announced

Directors Guild of America Lifetime Achievement Award winners Woody Allen and Martin Scorsese were among the five nominees today for the guild’s award for feature film film directing, an honor that historically leads to victory on Oscar night.

For Allen, the nomination for “Midnight in Paris” was his fifth, while Scorsese collected his ninth overall DGA nomination for “Hugo.”

David Fincher earned his third DGA nomination for “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,” while Michel Hazanavicius collected his first for “The Artist.” Alexander Payne received his second DGA nomination for “The Descendants.”

Since 1948, there have only been six times that the winner of the DGA Award for feature film directing has not gone on to win the Academy Award for best director. The most recent year was 2002, when Rob Marshall won the DGA Award for “Chicago” but the Oscar went to Roman Polanski for “The Pianist.”

The DGA Awards will be presented Jan. 28 in a ceremony hosted by Kelsey Grammer at the Grand Ballroom of the Hollywood and Highland complex.

Copyright © 2012 City News Service

News Tip? Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up for Breaking News & Alerts