Serving Beverly Hills, Bel Air, Holmby, Century City, Trousdale, Brentwood, Westwood

Beverly Hills News – Hollywood Film Awards Kicks Off Award Season at Beverly Hilton

Posted: Sunday, November 6, 2016 – 10:19 AM

(CNS) – Hollywood’s award season will begin tonight with the 20th annual Hollywood Film Awards, which will feature the presentation of a career achievement award to Eddie Murphy and top acting awards for Tom Hanks and Natalie Portman.

Murphy, who rose to fame on “Saturday Night Live” and became a big- screen star thanks to hits such as “Beverly Hills Cop” and “Trading Places,” received an Oscar nomination for his supporting role in the film “Dreamgirls.” He won Golden Globe and Screen Actors Guild awards for his work in the film.

Hanks will be presented with the Hollywood Actor Award, recognizing his work in “Sully,” while Portman will receive the Hollywood Actress Award for her role in “Jackie.” Hugh Grant will receive a supporting actor honor for “Florence Foster Jenkins” and Nicole Kidman will receive a supporting actress award for “Lion.”

James Corden will return to host the ceremony at the Beverly Hilton. Among those scheduled to serve as presenters at the event are Warren Beatty, Clint Eastwood, Andrew Garfield, Kate Hudson, Anna Kendrick, Ben Kingsley, Julianne Moore and Susan Sarandon.

Other awards that will be presented during the ceremony are:

— Robert De Niro, Hollywood Comedy Award for “The Comedian”;

— Naomie Harris, Hollywood Breakout Performance Award for “Collateral Beauty” and “Moonlight”;

— Lily Collins, New Hollywood Award for “Rules Don’t Apply”;

— Janelle Monae, Spotlight Award for “Hidden Figures”;

— the cast of “Gold,” Hollywood Ensemble Award;

— Justin Timberlake, Hollywood Song Award for “Can’t Stop the Feeling” from “Trolls”;

— Leonardo DiCaprio and Fisher Stevens, Hollywood Documentary Award for “Before the Flood”;

— “The Jungle Book,” Hollywood Blockbuster Award;

— “Zootopia,” Hollywood Animation Award;

— Mel Gibson, Hollywood Director Award for “Hacksaw Ridge”;

— Tom Ford, Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award for “Nocturnal Animals”;

— Marc Platt, Hollywood Producer Award for “La La Land,” “Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk” and “The Girl on the Train”;

— Kenneth Lonergan, Hollywood Screenwriter Award for “Manchester by the Sea”;

— Linus Sandgren, Hollywood Cinematography Award for “La La Land”;

— Mychael Danna, Hollywood Film Composer Award for “Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk” and “Storks”;

— John Gilbert, Hollywood Editor Award for “Hacksaw Ridge”;

— Stephane Ceretti and Richard Bluff, Hollywood Visual Effects Award for “Doctor Strange”;

— Christopher Boyes and Frank Eulner, Hollywood Sound Award for “The Jungle Book”;

— Albert Wolsky, Hollywood Costume Design Award for “Rules Don’t Apply”;

— Shane Thomas, Angela Conte, Bec Taylor and Noriko Waztanabe, Hollywood Makeup and Hair Styling Award for “Hacksaw Ridge”; and

— Wynn Thomas, Hollywood Production Design Award for “Hidden Figures.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up for Breaking News & Alerts