Serving Beverly Hills, Bel Air, Holmby, Century City, Trousdale, Brentwood, Westwood

Beverly Hilton Hotel hosts Imagen Awards, winners announced

The winners of the 24th Annual Imagen Awards, honoring positive portrayals of Latinos and Latino culture in entertainment, were announced tonight at a star-studded black-tie gala held in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Disney’s ‘”Beverly Hills Chihuahua,” Lifetime’s “Little Girl Lost,” Maya’s “Maldeamores” and ABC’s “Ugly Betty” all scored multiple wins at tonight’s event.

In addition to winners in twenty-one different categories from film and television, as well as live stage productions, special honors were presented to veteran motion picture agent Emanuel Nunez (Lifetime Achievement), television executive producer and writer Silvio Horta (Creative Achievement), screenwriter Roberto Orci (Norman Lear Writer’s Award), and Latino community leader Dolores Huerta (President’s Award).

The awards were handed out in front of an audience of over five hundred attendees representing the entertainment industry and Latino community.

Among the celebrities in attendance were Andy Garcia, Benjamin Bratt, Jimmy Smits, Edward James Olmos, Nadine Velasquez, Judy Reyes and Paul Rodriguez.

The Imagen (pronounced ee-mah-hen, Spanish for “image”) Awards program was established in 1985 from a suggestion by veteran television producer Norman Lear to encourage and recognize the positive portrayals of Latinos in the media.

Later, as The Imagen Foundation, it expanded its programs and initiatives to further its mission to serve as a bridge between the Latino community and the entertainment industry in providing access, education, and resources for Latinos both in the industry, as well as those seeking careers in entertainment.

Major sponsors of the Imagen Awards event included Nielsen, The Walt Disney Company, ABC, The Lear Family Foundation, CBS, Warner Bros., Paramount, Latino Public Broadcasting, The Hollywood Reporter, Fox, A&E, GSN, NBC/Telemundo and Variety.

Winners were selected by an independent panel of entertainment industry executives and Latino community leaders.

Here is the complete list of winners: (Note that the categories of Best Actress/Feature Film and Best Supporting Actress/Feature Film did not meet the minimum number of entries required for award consideration and therefore were eliminated from contention.)

– Best Primetime Television Program: Little Girl Lost: The Delimar Vera
Story (Lifetime)
– Best Actor/Television: Hector Bustamante, Little Girl Lost: The
Delimar Vera Story (Lifetime)
– Best Actress/ Television: America Ferrera, Ugly Betty (ABC)
– Best Supporting Actor/Television: Raymond Cruz, The Closer (TNT)
– Best Supporting Actress/Television: Ana Ortiz, Ugly Betty (ABC)
– Best Children’s Programming: Dora The Explorer (Nickelodeon)
– Best Documentary/ Television: A Class Apart (Latino Public Broadcasting)
– Best National Informational Program: Despierta America – De Lava
Platos a Chef (Univision)
– Best Local Informational Program: Vista L.A. (KABC)
– Best On-Air Advertising: FSE Strings (Fox Sports en Espa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up for Breaking News & Alerts